AIA|LA Announces 2015 Design Award Winners!

Los Angeles, CA – October 30, 2015 The American Institute of Architects Los Angeles (AIA|LA) announced the winners of its prestigious 2015 Design Awards program Thursday night, October 29, 2015, at an event celebrating recipients. 

Selected by a jury of noted architects from across the United States, the AIA|LA Design Awards recognize design excellence in some of the most exemplary built work in the country at this time. 

“The competition is tremendous which is exactly what we are looking for to raise the bar for the profession,” noted the 2015 AIA|LA Design Awards jury. “Los Angeles is raising the bar for the rest of the country.”

Winners of the competition’s counterpart, the AIA|LA Next LA awards, bestowed on as yet unbuilt commissions, were also announced.  A jury of experts residing in Los Angeles, a city that is seeing its dream of true urban living realized, noted the many interesting strategies used to create more connection and engagement on an urban level in a number of winning submissions. 

2015 AIA|LA Presidential Honorees as previously announced by the AIA|LA were also bestowed. Names of Presidential Honorees follow Design Award and Next LA award recipients in this story. 

By setting the 2015 AIA|LA Design Awards Ceremony + Party in two downtown locations, the evening both honored and embodied a burgeoning focus on placemaking at the heart of Los Angeles. Well over six hundred attendees gathered at the Aratani Theatre in the Japanese American Cultural & Community Center in Little Tokyo for a pre-event reception and ceremony. Winners, Presidential Honorees, and Design Award attendees then moved to the A+D Museum, in the Arts District, for an après-party which included buffet dinner.

Design Award and Next LA awards are given in three classifications: Honor, Merit and Citation, with Honor being the highest category.

Completed projects, located anywhere, that are designed by AIA members from firms based in the LA area, and architecture constructed in Los Angeles by any AIA member, no matter their base of operations, are eligible for submission for Design Awards.

For high quality images of winners and for more information about the event, please call, 213-639-0762 or email


HONOR: One Santa Fe, (Los Angeles, CA), Michael Maltzan Architecture, Inc. photo: Iwan BaanHONOR: Star Apartments (Los Angeles, CA), Michael Maltzan Architecture, Inc. photo: Iwan BaanHONOR: Morgan Phoa Residence/Library, (Los Angeles, CA), Studio Pali Fekete architects [SPF:a]. photo: John LindenMERIT: Mulholland Annex, (Los Angeles, CA), A L M Project Inc. photo: Patricia Parinejad
MERIT: Blackbirds, (Los Angeles, CA), Bestor Architecture. photo: Laure JolietMERIT: Cellular Complexity Evolve, (Los Angeles, CA), kais Al-Rawi, Julia Koerner & Marie Boltenstern. photo: Ryan GobutyMERIT: Hyundai Motor America Headquarters, (Fountain Valley, CA), Gensler. photo: Fotoworks Benny Chan PhotographyMERIT: En Pointe (Los Angeles, CA), Heather Roberge | murmur. photo: Joshua White
CITATION: Long Beach Airport - Passenger Concourse, (Long Beach, CA), HOK. photo: David LenaCITATION: Anaheim Regional Transportation Intermodal Center, (Anaheim, CA), HOK. photo: John LindenCITATION: The Guidance Center (Long Beach, CA), Lynch Eisinger Design Architects. Photo: Amy Barkow/Barkow PhotoCITATION: Olan G. and Aida T. Hafley House, (Long Beach, CA), Kelly Sutherlin McLeod Architecture, Inc. photo: John Ellis Photographer

Click on image to view 2015 Design Awards (Built Projects) winners slideshow. 



One Santa Fe
Los Angeles, CA
Michael Maltzan Architecture, Inc.

Star Apartments
Los Angeles, CA
Michael Maltzan Architecture, Inc.

Morgan Phoa Residence/Library
Los Angeles, CA
Studio Pali Fekete architects [SPF:a]


Mulholland Annex
Los Angeles, CA
A L M Project Inc.

Los Angeles, CA
Bestor Architecture

Cellular Complexity Evolve
Los Angeles, CA
kais Al-Rawi, Julia Koerner & Marie Boltenstern

Hyundai Motor America Headquarters
Fountain Valley, CA

En Pointe
Los Angeles, CA
Heather Roberge | murmur


Long Beach Airport - Passenger Concourse
Long Beach, CA

Anaheim Regional Transportation Intermodal Center
Anaheim, CA

The Guidance Center
Long Beach, CA
Lynch Eisinger Design Architects

Olan G. and Aida T. Hafley House
Long Beach, CA
Kelly Sutherlin McLeod Architecture, Inc.

Pressed Juicery Prototype Store
Beverly Hills, CA

Modern Barn House
Santa Monica, CA
Rios Clementi Hale Studios

WeHo Duplex
West Hollywood, CA
Rios Clementi Hale Studios

Shulman Home and Studio
Los Angeles, CA
Lorcan O’Herlihy Architects [LOHA]

Pterodactyl, Culver City, CA
Eric Owen Moss Architects

Hyundai Capital Europe
Frankfurt, Germany

Hermosa Beach, CA
XTEN Architecture

Hollyhock House Restoration Project
Hollywood, CA
The City of Los Angeles, Bureau of Engineering, Architectural Division


Click on image to view 2015 Next LA (Unbuilt Projects) winners slideshow.


Guggenheim Helsinki
Helsinki, Finland
XTEN Architecture


Hanking Center Tower
Shenzhen, China
Morphosis Architects

8600 Wilshire
Beverly Hills, CA
MAD and Gruen Associates

T3 Tower
Beirut, Lebanon

Vasilitsa House
Vasilitsa, Greece
Yianna Bouyioukou Architects

Berkeley Global Campus
Richmond, CA
Kevin Daly Architects with Greg Lynn Form

Stoneview Nature Center
Culver City, CA
Ehrlich Architects

Dublin City Library and Parnell Square Cultural Center
Dublin, Ireland
Moore Ruble Yudell Architects & Planners

Los Angeles River Urban Agriculture Plan
Los Angeles, CA
Perkins + Will

Union Station Master Plan
Los Angeles, CA
GRUEN Associates

Grey Gardens
Los Angeles, CA
Bestor Architecture and Dutton Architects


Providence Saint John’s Phase 2 Master Plan
Santa Monica, CA
Perkins Eastman, Architecture & Planning and Moore Ruble Yudell Architects & Planners

Telstra 288 Exhibition Street
Melbourne, Australia

The Main Museum of Los Angeles Art
Los Angeles, CA
Tom Wiscombe Architecture

Museum of Compassion (MOC)
Louisville, Kentucky
Aaron Neubert Architects

Technology Campus Masterplan (Parcel 10)
Playa Vista, CA
LARGE Architecture

Civic Center Isola-Garibaldi
Milan, Italy

Portland, OR
Steven Christensen Architecture


Gold Medal: Steven Ehrlich, FAIA

25-Year-Award:  Games of the XXIIIrd Olympiad. Los Angeles, California
The Jerde Partnership

Emerging Practice: Omgivning  
(Karin Liljegren, AIA; Principal, 

Design Advocate: Alissa Walker

Community Contribution: Dana Cuff
(Director, cityLAB)

Educator of the Year: Sarah Lorenzen, AIA
(Associate Professor and Chair, Cal Poly 

Honorary AIA|LA: Aaron Paley, Hon. AIA|LA
(President, Community Arts Resources)

Building Team of the Year: The Team Responsible For The Hercules Campus at Playa Vista
Levin & Associates Architects
The Ratkovich Company
Nabih Youssef & Associates
ARC Engineering
Galvin Preservation Associates
EPT Design
Spectra Company
Ross Project Management

Last updated: 24-Apr-2017 09:00 PM
Share Share